SPURS 50th Anniversary Conference

The Reflective Practitioner Reconsidered

October 12, 2018, MIT Media Lab

75 Amherst St, Cambridge, MA 02139


7.30 – 8.30 am                 Registration with Breakfast - WINTER GARDEN ROOM E14-638 (6th Floor)

8.30 – 9.00 am                 Welcome Remarks

                                               Hashim Sarkis, Dean SA+P
                                               Bish Sanyal, Director  SPURS MIT


9.00 – 10.30 am             Plenary Session - MULTI-PURPOSE ROOM E14-674

                                              SPURS at 50 Years: Looking back & looking forward   

                                              Richard Lester, Provost International Activities MIT
                                              Anthony Koliha, Director Office of Global EducationalPrograms, ‎U.S. Department of State
                                             Allan E. Goodman, President Institute Int. Education
                                              LIU Jian, Vice Dean, School of Architecture, Tsinghua University
                      Moderator: Bish Sanyal, MIT

10.30– 10.45 am           Coffee Break


10.45 – 12.15 pm          Panel Session - MULTI-PURPOSE ROOM E14-674                                    

                                              The Reflective Practitioner: Has the Need for
                                              Reflective Practice Changed in the Last 50 Years?

                                              Abdulaziz Alkhedheiri, SPURS Alumnus       
                                              Ani Dasgupta, WRI Ross Center for Sustainable Cities
                                              Francisca Rojas, Inter-American Development Bank
                                              Rachel Wimpee, Ford Foundation
                                              Moderator: Gabriella Carolini, DUSP MIT


12.15 – 1.30 pm              Lunch Break + Networking - MULTI-PURPOSE ROOM E14-674


1.30 – 3.00 pm                 Parallel Session   - MULTI-PURPOSE ROOM E14-674

                                                Are Development Paradigms a hindrance to
                                                Innovative practice?                                  

                                                Janelle Knox-Hayes, DUSP MIT
                                                Edgar Pierterse, University of Cape Town
                                               Michael Piore, MIT Political Science and Economics 
                                               Otto Scharmer, Sloan MIT

Moderator: Jason Jackson, DUSP MIT

1.30 – 3.00 pm                  Parallel Session - SILVERMAN SKYLINE RM E14-648

                                                 Does Technology Interfere or Facilitate
                                                 Good Practice?

                                                 Illac Diaz, Humphrey Alumnus
                                                 Perry Pei-Ju Yang, Georgia Tech
                                                 Sarah Williams, DUSP MIT
                                                 Ethan Zuckerman, MIT Media Lab

Moderator: Christopher Zegras, DUSP MIT


3.00 – 3.15 pm                   Coffee Break


3.30 – 5.00 pm                  Parallel Session

                                                 Learning from Mistakes   - BARTOS THEATER E15-070

  Andy Altman, DUSP MIT
                                                Carlos Brando, Humphrey Alumnu  
                                                Bassim Halaby, DUSP Alumnus 
                                                John Forester, Professor Cornell AAP
                                                Frederick P. Salvucci, MIT
                                                Moderator: Larry Susskind, DUSP MIT                                            


3.30 – 5.00 pm                  Parallel Session

                                                 Redefining Professional Ethics -MULTI-PURPOSE ROOM E14-674

                                                Paul Altidor, SPURS Alumnus 
                                                 Paula Moreno, Humphrey Alumna
                                                 Kenneth Sharpe, Swarthmore College
                                                 Moderator: Louise Elving, SPURS MIT

5pm                                        Closing Remarks

                                                 Bish Sanyal, Director  SPURS MIT